Top News

Watch the space station leave the Private Ax-1 space station tonight

Update at 12:30 ET: The disconnection of the Ax-1 astronaut crew from the International Space Station was postponed until Sunday, April 24, due to bad weather at SpaceX’s splashdown sites. The unblocking is now scheduled for Sunday at 20:55 EDT (April 25, 0055 GMT), with the launch scheduled for Monday at 13:00 EDT (1700 GMT).

The very first completely private astronaut mission to the International Space Station (ISS) is about to travel home and you can watch the departure live.

AND SpaceX Dragon capsules carrying four crew members Ax-1 mission has to leave the orbital laboratory today (April 23) after a two-week stay. The hatches between the Dragon and the ISS will close at about 4:30 p.m. EDT (2030 GMT) and the SpaceX will disconnect just over two hours later.

You can follow these milestones live here on Space.com, courtesy of NASA, or directly through the space agency. Hatch closure coverage will begin at 16:15 EDT (2015 GMT) and webcast from the dock will begin at 18:15 EDT (2215 GMT).

Live updates: Ax-1 private mission to the space stationRelated: Amazing photos of the Ax-1 private launch into space

If all goes according to plan, the Dragon capsule, named Endeavor, will plunge down the coast of Florida on Sunday (April 24) at 13:46 EDT (1746 GMT). With kind permission, you can also watch this event live here Axiom Space, the company that organized the Ax-1 mission. Axiom’s webcast will begin on Sunday at 12:45 PM EDT (1645 GMT).

Ax-1 is commanded by former NASA astronaut Michael López-Alegría, who is now Axiom’s vice president of business development. The other three crew members are paying customers – American Larry Connor, Canadian Mark Pathy and Israeli Eytan Stibbe.

Sekera-1 launched on top of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket On April 8, he arrived on the ISS a day later. The mission was to leave the orbital lab on Tuesday (April 19), but bad weather in the splashdown zone postponed the departure a few days.

This delay affected another SpaceX astronaut mission, NASA’s Crew-4 flight. Crew-4 was supposed to start on Saturday, but is now starting at the earliest on Tuesday (April 26). NASA officials said they wanted a two-day window between the Ax-1 splashdown and the Crew-4 launch to allow time for data analysis and further preparations.

Mike Wall is the author of “Out there(Grand Central Publishing, 2018; illustrated by Karl Tate), a book on the search for extraterrestrial life. Follow it on Twitter @michaeldwall. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom or on Facebook.